In June 1845, a group of Illinois businessmen planned to build a railroad 75 miles long, linking Rock Island, Illinois, with LaSalle, Illinois. Rock Island, now known as Arsenal Island, is home to Fort Armstrong, which served as the gateway to Chicago for riverboat passengers and goods ferried on the Mississippi River as early
the history of the Indians of Rock Island county would be but to repeat something that has already been handled skillfully in every school history. However, owing to the fact that within the small territory embraced by the confines of Rock Island county centered the domains of the mighty Indian warrior who was important enough to have
Historic Rock Island County; history of the settlement of ? Historic Rock Island County; history of the settlement of Rock Island County from the earliest known period to the present time embracing references of importance, and including a biography of Rock Island County's well-known citizens
Historic photos: IH Farmall Works Business & Economy ? Both Sigler and Hayes watched 30 years ago this week when the last Farmall tractor rolled off the assembly line in Rock Island. Sigler was a forklift operator and Hayes was a …
Aerial photo of downtown Rock Island. From bottom of photo moving up: Train moving along the Mississippi River. Illinois 92. Spencer Towers, 111 20th St., Rock Island.
History of Monmouth Town? The town of Monmouth, Illinois has a diverse and rich history that all students and community members should experience and explore. Monmouth truly is a great asset to Warren County and the United States.
History of Joliet Illinois, 1907 Will County ILGenWeb? History of Joliet Illinois, 1907. The oldest road is the Chicago & Rock Island, which passes from Chicago through Joliet, and strikes the Mississippi at Rock Island. From Rock Island the line of travel is continued westward by the Mississippi & Missouri railroad, so that persons intending to go farther west than this place can not do better
But as Rock Island grew towards Moline in the 1890s, another English speaking church was needed, in particular for Rock Island’s growing Irish Catholic population. On July 28, 1898, the Rev. John F. Lockney organized a new congregation called Sacred Heart and purchased a plot of land at the corner of 28th Street and 5th Avenue for $5,500.00
Please let the audience know your advice: